Fast Food Christanity

mcdonalds-food-on-boardI was driving down Beebe Capps Expressway last night, with Pizza Hut and Burger King to my left and McDonalds to my right. Their glowing signs attracting my eyes and exciting my stomach. Like any good American, I like fast food. Whoppers are amazing, so is pizza, and who can resist a good sausage burrito, especially since McDonalds now offers them all day long? Because of good advertising, we know what each fast food restaurant sells, such as Taco Smells Taco Bell sells tacos and burritos, not hamburgers or Chinese food; such as Little Sneezers Little Ceasars sells pizza, and Subweigh Subway sells sandwiches. We know where we can grab a hamburger, a taco, or a pizza, and so we can pick and choose depending on what we’re hungry for. We can pick and choose from the restaurants which dot our streets.

Like any good American, I enjoy fast food. It tastes good (though it may not always be healthy), it’s convenient, and it’s greasy. . . . But how many times are we guilty, of treating the Bible as fast food?

How many times are we guilty of treating God’s Word as a pick and choose menu? I need personal encouragement, time to read Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through him who strengthens me,” yet I ignore, “Love thy neighbor,” when a friend could use some lifting up, as I instead hurry off to class. Or why do I choose James 1:2 to support my happiness, “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds,” yet ignore Psalms 102:1-2 when it’s time to lament?

Hear my prayer, O LORD;
let my cry come to you!
 Do not hide your face from me
    in the day of my distress!
Incline your ear to me;
    answer me speedily in the day when I call!

Or why do we order seconds and thirds on blessings and mercy, but we neglect patience and judgment?

How many times do treat the Bible, as a support for a fast food religion? we pick and choose what we wish to digest. We can choose to wolf down verses, yet neglect passages or books. We can dine on the Psalms, the Gospels, and Acts, while fast when it comes to Leviticus, Song of Solomon, or Lamentations. Or how many of us are guilty of allowing our rushing culture to influence our spirital lifestyles? taking a shot of Sunday morning expresso, hoping that it’ll last till Wednesday or the end of the week. And maybe a donut too.

But the Bible is not fast food.

It is a banquet set before us, filled with milk, meat, and scrumdiddlyumptious chocolate cake. It gives us access to the Bread and Water of Life. And it provides the nourishment which we need to stay spiritually fed. This should be how we digest the Bible, being willing to sit down, to meditate, to read the Bible in its entirety, rather than choosing what to scarf down in a moment to best serve us. Yes, there may be times in which we need a quick snack. But, if this is all we eat, the results will be disastrous. Just as if we ate nothing but fast food physically (which can be seen by watching Super Size Me).  Though, like any meal, the Scriptures should be eaten in quantity. Too much can make it taste sweet as honey to the tongue, yet sour to the stomach (Revelation 10:10), with results similar in trying to drink a gallon of malk within an hour–upchucked cottage cheese.

The Word is also not meant for eat-eat-eat-and eating without exercise, without going out and spreading the Gospel (Matthew 28:18-20). But how many Christians are overweight, eating without working out? Or oppositely, how many Christians are malnourished, masters in spiritual fasting, though physical fasting is not even a thought?

The Bible, should not be a source for fast food Christianity, inspiring a bite to eat on the run, rushing through life with God as a second thought. It should not be thought of as a pick and choose buffet, but a meal to be eaten slowly, “I’ll take little Genesis this time, with some 1 John on my next plate.”

Though we should know this, how many times do we treat the Bible, as if it’s a source for fast food Christianity?

 

~Photo Obtained

Leave a Reply

