Humpbacks to the Rescue!

So, I was surfing Facebook the other day, catching up on the lives of friends, liking photos, drooling at recipes, when I stumbled upon this image from the ÜberFacts page:

14203265_1298248933541526_1660171693527025693_n

Crazy right! I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again–I love whales! Ironically, orcas are my most favorite, but humpbacks may be my second. . . . Not sure though, I mean blue whales are super cool too, so are Mobies [sperm whales], and who doesn’t like baby belugas?

But yeah, whales are stinkin’ awesome! When I read this, it was just another weird whale fact which I would have never known, for whales can be pretty amazing. But . . .

. . . Why would humpback whales do this? Why would they risk their necks to protect weaker animals? Animals that sound like they’re not even whales? Why would a humpback give when it doesn’t get anything back?

. . . Why would a God do this? Why would He risk His neck to protect those who are weaker? People who aren’t even gods? Why would a God give when He doesn’t get anything back [compared to all that He has sacrificed]?

Why should the church do this? Why should we risk our necks to protect those who are weaker? People who aren’t even Christians? Why should the church give without expecting to get anything back?

I ask you, why should the church, be more like humpback whales?

Leave a Reply

