Heroes: Captain America~The Truest Friend

7f4d0b73-34ed-4064-be36-625003e3f1ad

Ever since the first Avengers movie, I’ve admired Captain America because of him saying, “There’s only one God, ma’am, and I’m pretty sure he doesn’t dress like that.” Truthfully before this, I thought he was a dork, and I hope I’m not shot for this, but I really wasn’t impressed with his first movie. However, this quote made him my favorite Marvel hero, even above Wolverine (Logan) or Iron Man (Stark). Captain America in the last decade has been a great example of character, embodying many values which I admire.

Yesterday, I finally got to see Captain America: Civil War with a really good buddy of mine. Don’t worry, there’s no spoilers in this post apart from what can be deciphered from the trailers. I’m not going to spoil this film if you haven’t seen it yet, for it is a movie which I highly recommend for you to see in person (though I do wish there was less cussing in it). It is action packed, filled with surprises, laughs, and tears. Many say ‘betrayal’ is a main theme in the film, which I do agree; however, there’s another theme that I would like to hit upon which the film revolves around also, that being ‘friendship.’

Friendship. In the midst of the fighting, the explosions, the thrill, there is this warmer theme. It’s amazing what Captain America suffers for his good friend, for Bucky. It’s amazing what Falcon and so many others sacrifice for Captain America.  And it’s heartbreaking seeing the conflict between two best friends, the war which is fought between Captain America and Iron Man:

Steve: “Sorry Tony. You know I wouldn’t do this if I had any other choice. But he’s my friend.”
Tony: “So was I.”

Wow! How is that scene not gut wrenching?! Civil War is a very good movie, yet it’s a hard movie to watch too. It’s powerful seeing such love, such loyalty, and such friendship proven throughout the film. Yet it’s also painful seeing two friends who’ve had each other’s backs through thick and thin, through Hell and back on so many occasions–fight to kill each other.

I tip my hat to Marvel, for they have created a masterpiece. I’m so grateful that I got to see this movie; but not only see it, but share that experience with a really great friend of my own.

If you watch this film, keep an eye open for this theme of friendship. And I challenge you to ask yourself, “Would I be this loyal to my friends?” For friendships are beautiful things. As C. S. Lewis once said, “Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival.” Truly, one of the goals in my life is to be the best friend that I can be. Loyalty is perhaps one of the biggest traits which I try to embody in my own life. I pray that I can be as good as friend as Captain America or Falcon, loyal to the end. . . . And I pray I’ll never again have to face a civil war with one who I care for.

Friends are amazing! And I’m so very, very thankful for all the friends who are a part[1] of my life. For as Lewis also said, “We meet no ordinary people in our lives.”civil-war-for-captain-america-3-iron-man-vs-captain-america

civilwar7c

captain-america-3-civil-war-who-will-join-cap-iron-man8i014UNthe-3-biggest-external-threats-to-the-avengers-in-captain-america-civil-war-597296[1] Warning: be careful what you say and how you say it. For “apart” means ‘something which has become separated,’ while “a part” means ‘something which is an amount or portion of something else.’ I may have almost made that mistake if it wasn’t for some editing . . .

~Photos Obtained

Leave a Reply

