Heroes: Superman~Man of Steel, Heart of Gold

76314

With Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice coming out this weekend, I thought I would take this opportunity and finally write about my favorite superhero, Superman. Now, I know many think he’s lame, too OP, and believe it’s dumb how he can be beaten by a little rock. I mean he is,  “Faster than a speeding bullet, more powerful than a locomotive, able to leap tall buildings in a single bound,” as well as possessing x-ray and heat vision, can freeze objects with his breath, able to explode like a solar flare, and has the ability to time travel. He’s survived a supernova, tied with the Flash in a race, and has moved the entire earth both by himself and with the help of GL. (And I mean, he’s also best friends with Batman, when they’re not fighting that is.) However, instead of hating him because he is so awesome OP, I admire him for it. Kal-El has all this power, and if he wanted to, he could rule over humanity. Yet instead, he embraces it and serves it. (Additionally, he’s not as overpowered as Dr. Manhattan, who can create matter, disintegrate people, able to observe both the past, present, and future simultaneously–pretty much possessing unlimited power, while Superman does have kryptonite to keep him in check.)

Instead of seizing power, becoming a god to be worshiped, Superman embraces his humble beginnings. Raised in Smallville, Kansas, Kal-El or Clark Kent, explored humanity as both a farm boy and an alien learning how to control his powers. Struggling like us learning how to fit in yet embracing being different. For from the very beginning, Clark knew he was different. From the start, he could have used his abilities to gain advantage over others, even his parents. He could have grasped power, instead submitting himself to their authority. Similarly to how Jesus humbled himself to become a man, a baby in fact, submitting himself to his parents. For that is a another amazing thing which I love about Clark, is in many ways he’s similar to Jesus, embodying many Christlike qualities.

I also know, I’m not the only one inspired by this man wearing tights and a red cape (despite the warnings from Edna in The Incredibles):

We all have heroes. Heroes whom we love and adore, who we look up too and wish to be. Heroes who we connect to and favorite more than others. For me, that hero is Superman. He is perhaps the biggest fictional character who’s had a effect upon my life. For did you know those whom you admire (friends, teachers, mentors, even movie, book, or comic book characters) those whom you admire, you become like, if you aspire to or not? And Superman, like his “S”, that “S” which he told Louis is a Kryptonian symbol for hope in Man of Steal, has given me hope more than once. A hope for justice, a hope to serve, and a hope for humanity.

“I fill like I live in a world made of cardboard.” This line from a Justice League cartoon many years ago, helped me to respect the Man of Steel. Him being cautious and careful not to abuse his powers or to kill someone with them. He has all the means to lord, yet he is a servant, standing up for the weak and protecting them from Darkseid, General Zod, Lex Luthor, and so many others. Inspiring me as a Christian to do the same. No, I don’t have superpowers (I wish I did), but I can still serve. I can still stand up for the weak and love, be like the Son of Krypton.

 

~Photo Obtained

2 thoughts on “Heroes: Superman~Man of Steel, Heart of Gold

Leave a Reply

