Hero

Superboy_Vol_5_1“It must be nice to have magic. And be useful.”

“What’s that supposed to mean?”

“I went out there to help her. But I couldn’t do anything because I’m just . . . ordinary.”

“Henry . . . We are each given our own gifts. You have the heart of the truest believer. You brought us all together. Never think you’re ordinary just because you don’t have magic. . . . Or claws, or . . . or purple shorts. And don’t worry about Emma. She’s a hero, and as we both know–”

[In unison] “Heroes always win.”

(A conversation between Henry and Regina, with comic books in their laps, “Once Upon a Time Season 4, Episode 8 (“Smash the Mirror, Part 1”))

Oh how I can relate to Henry. . . . Still, if you would ask me today, “What do you want to be when you grow up? Anything, no strings attached.” I would answer with: “A superhero.”

Right now, I’m wrapped up in five TV shows, I know, that’s an endeavor on top of school and work–believe me I know: GothamThe Flash, ArrowThe Legend of Korra, and Once Upon the Time. I love fantasy and science fiction; I love magic and superheroes and . . . seeing someone’s imagination come to life . . . seeing . . . the impossible be the possible.

. . . Fantasy and sci-fi have their places, but they’re not reality, no matter how much we wish they could be. And believe me, I wish they were. How I wish I could get bitten by a spider or jump in some toxic goo to become a superhero and change the world.

But you don’t need to be a superhero, you don’t need magic, to change it.

As Regina said, “We each have been given our own gifts.” That may not be being “faster than a speeding bullet” or “able to leap buildings in a single bound,” but that may be a beautiful singing voice that can bring smiles to those in a nursing home. An ear that can listen to someone who has been bottling something in for far too long. Or you might be a great hugger.

Whatever you’re blessed with, know that you’re not ordinary. Never think it, for you are special. There is a special place in this world for you, a special need for your talent. So use it, become that hero that you’ve always wanted to be, but as you. You don’t need to be super extraordinary to do that.

This world needs more heroes, so why not give it to them?

~Photo Obtained

Leave a Reply

